No, You Didn’t Win A Free MacBook Pro.

Who is keeping the scammers in business?

Danell teNyenhuis Black

--

Two girls receiving good news | Credit: Deagreez | iStock (under license)

I have won multiple MacBook Pros, iPad Airs, and iPhone 12’s in the past month. I don’t have an exact count because I immediately deleted the texts. I didn’t click for more details, and I didn’t provide any information.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my Apple gadgets, and I would never decline a free one. But I believe the adage that nothing in life is free except for prizes at a baby or bridal shower. Those are definitely free, and I am a fierce competitor when it comes to shower games!

Seriously though, I can’t believe that anyone believes they actually won an expensive gadget through a random text.

According to the FBI’s Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3), in 2019, there were 467,361 complaints involving 3.5 billion in losses for these types of scams, along with other internet-based crimes.

Who clicks on these links? Judging by the above statistics, people click on the link, and many of them lose money in a scam. Reader’s Digest discussed the various types of text scams known as “smishing.”

I tried looking for stories of people admitting they clicked on the link. I found it article after article warning you to NOT click on the link. I was going to keep searching, but I got bored.

If you are someone who might believe you can win something through a random text, STOP CLICKING THE LINKS!! You are the reason I am inundated with spam texts. Repeat after me, “Nothing is free.” You’re welcome.

--

--